Skip to content

New Imperial Theory: Some preliminary notes

3 March 2015

Cross-posted from The Molinist. Come and read The Molinist at its new home!
Subscribe to The Molinist via RSS to get the latest posts.

I commented in a previous post that the still-emergent field of New Imperial History, the ‘post-colonial turn’ of imperial history, in which I can be said to work, was lacking a coherent critical theoretical framework of its own. Instead it must borrow bits and pieces here and there from other school of critical theory (such as critical race theory, the subject of the post) of greater or lesser applicability. Well, in the intervening months such a theory has yet to produce itself spontaneously. So, as I am currently working on a theory-heavy section of my dissertation, I felt inspired to lay out some of what I think are necessary elements of that new theoretical framework…

Continued at The Molinist.

Comments are closed.

